Flight Only / Airline and Airports

Discussions relating to flight only, airlines and airports.
Moved and merged to existing topic in Flights section.

Mark :)
Chivas69 wrote:
I thought for health and safety it had gone down to 23kg?

It varies depending on the handling agents and what policy the airline has adopted. The absolute maximum is 32kg with anything over 20kg getting a 'heavy' sticker. Health and safety policy was going in the direction of a maximum of 23kg for baggage handlers, the reason why many airlines have adopted that limit. It hasn't been standardised across the board yet though.

Darren
Can I take bacon in my hold luggage?
anie,

Yes, as long as it isn't a prohibited item for import in to the country you are travelling to.

Darren
Hi. Can some one help me please? It's my first time flying (going to Toulouse) and I'm wondering about securing my hold luggage. A) what is the best type of case/bag to use and B) what's the best way to secure it? Any suggestions welcome. Thanks
catslovelycats,

Welcome onboard :tup
Suitcase / bag options are wide and varied depending on your requirements. That's something only you can decide upon really. It needs to be large enough for your needs, but not too large so the contents are lose inside, light enough so as not to take up a large proportion of your weight allowance, ideally be on wheels to make it easier moving it and sturdy to take the punishment without damaging the contents. I personally like Tripp, they make a good range of suitcases that meet all of the above. Most suitcases and bags designed for travel have the ability to be locked (Tripp come with locks). I prefer locks with keys so I can have a main set and spares rather than a combination number, its easily forgotten!

Darren
Bad news :-(
From 7th October 2009 for tickets booked and travelled from that date, BA are REDUCING the baggage allowance in Economy from 2 x 23KG each to ONE x 23Kg per person