Caribbean Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in the Caribbean
health
451 Posts
Hi, if you go in to your local pharmacy they will be able to tell you exactly what you need, i am a Pharmacist and i can assure you we have the most up to date recomended advice!
I cant remember off the top of my head what is needed for mexico, im going to have to check tomorrow though as i've just booked a holiday to cancun myself!
Off to the Dominican Republic on Monday - so excited. Was going to pay £64 pp for Mallarone however our doctor recommended we use mAvloclor 250mg, chloroquine phosphateallarone and for 2 people it was less than £6 a lot different from £128!!!
Last year we had Typhoid and Hep A jabs for the Dominican Republic. we have since had a booster. My sister went for jabs yesterday and had to have Hep B as well. Has anyone else been recommended to have Hep B too?
We've just booked an 8 day tour in Venezuela and a week on Margarita. Been checking out which vaccinations and anti-malaria tabs we should be taking. Seems we're ok with Avochlor and Paludrine (have taken both many times and had little side effects.) We're also up to date with all our innoculations except Yellow fever (which is recommended.) Any one have any feedback on this jab? Any adverse reactions experienced? Also regarding insect repellent. I buy citronella oil and put a few drops into my sun creams & body lotion. The mossies don't like it at all. I use DEET products too and have managed to escape being bitten on our last couple of holidays.
Gail
HI,

my wife and i had the yellow fever jabs prior to going to india a few years ago, and we didnt suffer with any side effects.

Eifion
Hi EIFION,
Thanks, that's good to know. We'll be getting the jab anyway but I hoped it wouldn't cause us any problems. Didn't know Yellow fever was recommended for India. We go there quite often and never had to have it.
Regards
Gail
Hi Gail,