EX-Pats and Owners Abroad

Discussions for EX-Pats and owners abroad or those who are considering this idea.
You are probably going to have to go to the water and electric places in person to get these sorted when you get there. You will need your Tapu/residency permit as proof of ownership and take the readings with you and if you can find someone to walk you through it all the better. There is a small charge for changing them over to a new owner. I am surprised they arent going to do this, did you have an agent who can help you sort it out or did you buy direct from builder and if so what did your contract say about this?? As an agent I would always make sure these thing are done for my clients and would ask you to follow up this post for the benefit of those that follow you into buying property- its all these little things people need info on. I hope you get it all sorted quickly and without too much stress.
Bryn, is it true that before you connect utilities you need a ruhsat, or living license. This is the final check from the Belediye that all your works are correct and they can pass your new building and list what it is...ie house, shop or hotel etc. It is very difficult to do this from the UK. If you had an agent then as Bryn said it should be part of the service. If you had a lawyer acting on your behalf then he should do it, especially if he had power of attourney. I am not in Bodrum area so can't physically help. Is there anyone out there that can?
Habitation certificate is needed for connection to services.
This should have been provided by builder.
You should always insist that this is provided as you will need it also when you come to sell the property.